LOCATION:HOME > COMPETITION > HISTORY
Hong Kong Footwear Design Competition is one of the key projects of the Federation of Hong Kong Footwear Ltd. The aim of this competition is to nurture and attract local talents, instill in them a better understanding of the footwear industry and a future career goal. It is hoped that this can help to bring an overall improvement in the quality and competitiveness in the industry.

Since 2000, the Federation has organised 13 Footwear Design Competitions. The successes of the competitions must be credited to the support of the industry and major enterprises and institutions (names of our supporters have been listed on the competition poster). Throughout the years, the competition has been gaining broader recognition from domestic and foreign markets and we are glad to see the improvement in the designs year after year. In year 2000, around 400 designs entered the contest; however the number of designs has been increased tremendously to 1,500 in 2012. This is a solid proof of the tremendous success of the competition.

In the first Footwear Design Competition, we were honored to enlist the support from Legislative Councilor Selena Chow, we sought assistance to apply for funding to the Innovation and Technology Department of the HKSAR Government, and coordinated with the Hong Kong Productivity Council, the competition was held successfully. The winning designs were exhibited in the exhibition hall next to the Tamar site and they gained favorable comments from all around. However, due to the financial constraint, the Innovation and Technology Department was not able to support the competition in its second year. The Federation did not yield on it and it negotiated with the Hong Kong Trade Development Council to incorporate this competition as an annual event. Both groups reached a final agreement after several discussions: the Hong Kong Trade Development Council would co-ordinate all the promotion, show production and exhibition of the shoes design competition on voluntary basis, while the Federation will be responsible for other matters, including organising seminars, entry design manufacturing and forming the selection committee etc. The second Footwear Design Competition thus was able to be held in the consecutively year and the winning items were on display at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Throughout the years, we are happy to witness both the increase in the participant number and design improvement. The winner of the 2002 Footwear Design Competition, Ms. Yim Kit Ling, entered her winning design (based on the theme of Empress Dowager Cixi) to the World Footwear Design Competition held in Italy, and she captured the winning title a second time. After winning the contests, Ms. Yim furthered her studies in Italy and she entered the shoe industry upon graduation. Now Ms. Yim is leading a success career. The Federation will continue its goal of nurturing the talents in the field.

To further promote and publicize the shoe design competition, in 2009, TDC recommended Footwear Design Competition and Hong Kong clothing exhibition to be held at the same time.

The Hong Kong Footwear Design Competition has been held for thirteen consecutive years. All the winning designs were exhibited in local and domestic major footwear related industries exhibitions. In addition, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council has sent the winning entries to footwear exhibitions all around the globe, in an effort to help open up and develop the overseas market.

Without doubt, the unprecedented successes of all the past year footwear design competitions are due to the concerted effort and support of various industries, the panel of professional judges, sample design productions of manufacturers on voluntary basis and members of the organizing committee. On behalf of the Federation, I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude and appreciation to all of you, I also hope that you can continue to support the Footwear Design Competition in the years to come. Thank you!


Vice president of the Federation of Hong Kong Footwear
Tsang Ying Ming
velmont

您的位置:首页 > 设计比赛 > 比赛起源
香港鞋款设计比赛乃香港鞋业总会的重点项目之一,其目的在发掘及吸引年青才俊,让他们对鞋业有进一步的认识,从而加入制鞋行业,提高鞋业之生产质素,加强行业的竞争力。

自2000年至今,总会已举办了十三届鞋款设计比赛。蒙企业友好及各大机构的支持(名单详列于设计比赛海报上),国内、外业界的认同,成绩每年均有所进步。2000年首届参加者作品约四佰多款,至2012年已增至壹仠伍佰多款,证明鞋款设计比赛经广受业界及参赛者的支持及认同。

首届鞋款设计比赛,蒙立法会周梁淑仪议员协助,向香港特区政府之创新科技处申请拨款资助,由香港生产力促进局负责统筹,得以顺利完成。得奖作品在添马舰侧的展览馆展出,大获好评。首届设计比赛虽然成绩美满,但因创新科技处之政策所限,未能申请资助继续举办,但本会并未有因而放弃培育业内设计人材之机会,转而与香港贸易发展局商议把此设计比赛订为一长期性之活动,经数次讨论后,最终成功订下方案,香港贸易发展局同意无偿统筹一切有关设计比赛之推广、表演制作及展出,而本会则负责其它一切事项,包括举办座谈会,制造参赛作品及评选等等。第二届鞋款设计比赛得以顺利继续进行,并于湾仔香港会议及展览中心展出。

鞋款设计比赛的参赛者人数及作品质素可见每年均有所进步。在2002年,荣获全场总冠军之严洁玲小姐更以其参赛作品(慈禧太后)寄往意大利参加世界鞋款设计比赛,连下两城,再获冠军殊荣。严小姐获奖后到意大利继续深造,现仍服务于本港相关行业机构,个人发展极为理想,而本会亦达到培育人材之期望。

于2009年起,贸发局为加强推广及增加曝光率,建议鞋款设计比赛与香港服装展览同时举行,以收相得益彰之效果。

香港鞋款设计比赛至此不觉已有十三年历史,得奖作品除在香港及国内各大型鞋业及相关行业的展览会展出外,香港贸易发展局更将得奖作品送往世界各地相关的鞋类展览会展出,实有助本港鞋业开拓海外市场之效果。

历届鞋款设计比赛之成功,除有赖各界友好的支持和协助外,专业的评判团,样品制作的义务厂商及各筹委们的努力参予,均功不可没。本人谨此代表总会致以衷心的感谢,并希望各界继续支持本会,俾使鞋款设计比赛得以顺利继续进行。谢谢!

香港鞋业总会副会长
曾英明
velmont